Mycelium

Farside

Mycelium

#1 Post by Farside » Thu Oct 18, 2018 8:07 pm

I live in Northern Canada, and things break down and decompose much slower here. At least the things you want breaking down anyway!

This year I decided that things in my soil are moving altogether too slowly for my linking, and so I embarked on some experiments with what I call accelerated sheet mulch. I'm attempting to compost in place, and using sheet mulching materials to trap moisture and suppress weeds while adding mycelium to the sheet mulch to break it all down fast.

Yes I'll need to add more sheet mulch, but weed suppressing is a secondary bi-product of this process. Carbon stacking is what this system is really about.

I thought I would bring this experiment up here because it had a very unexpected result. By mid-summer I had more oyster mushrooms than I knew what to do with. so I started trading them for all sorts of things. Honey, perennial plants, vegetables...

It turned out to be the most productive year in my vegetable garden not because the plants did exceptionally well (my peas and beans got sick and died), but because people kept giving me bags of produce. And I found my success growing fungus exceeds my ability to ripen tomatoes outside a greenhouse.

Elew

Re: Mycelium

#2 Post by Elew » Tue Oct 30, 2018 3:47 pm

Mushrooms are something I would really like to grow, but living in an RV has it's limits. I saw Christian did some videos on using the logs, and I had considered turning one of our cubbies under the RV into a mushroom home, but we would need to do some climate control if we did that.

For now I think I am resigned to gaining knowledge, so I have more ideas on how I should set things up if and when we ever do get some land...
Last night I started watching the Funky Fungi channel and I find her super easy to follow https://www.youtube.com/user/jdjuergensen

dirtmurphy

#3 Post by dirtmurphy » Tue Oct 30, 2018 5:09 pm